Dear America: Have a salad

I just read a couple of articles that floored me. It kind of disgusted me. It also made me shake my head, and wonder what will happen in the next ten years.

Firstly, here is a nice warning for you. Your buzzwords have no effect on me. Try to keep that in mind before you flood the comments, calling me the inclusive buzzword of the day.

Now to start.

For the past several years, ever since I lost nearly one hundred pounds and hit a size eight to ten, I have wondered why I kept getting called a “skinny bitch.” Why was I continually being told I needed a cheeseburger, when I was such a normal size? See, I am five feet seven, so it is very average size, and sometimes I gain weight because I love tacos. When I gain weight, I hit one hundred and sixty pounds, which to me is overweight, at least by fifteen pounds.

So why then, why did so many say I was skinny? Why was I being told to eat more? In honesty, one of my relatives that I adore dearly had the audacity to tell me I looked like a meth addict due to being so skinny. They assumed, that since I had a drug addiction ten years ago, that I was on drugs again and that was the only reason I was skinny. Because who in their right mind would want to lose weight and be healthy, amirite? AmIrItE?

Well, I just recently found out.

The average American woman is now a size sixteen to eighteen.

SIXTEEN TO EIGHTEEN.

She weighs an average of one hundred and eighty pounds.

Are. You. Shitting. Me?

Here’s where my warning from earlier comes in. You can call me a fat-shamer or fatphobic or something phobic all you want and it really has no effect on me.

America, have a salad. If we keep this trend up, in ten to twenty years, the average size will be a twenty-four. That’s morbidly obese no matter what height you are, but you can’t say anything, otherwise, you get called something this or something phobic. You get told beauty at every size.

Yeah, it’s going to be really gorgeous when eighty percent of Americans can’t even reach their shoes to tie them. It’s going to be really beautiful when the hospitals are clogged up because people are being admitted at a rapid rate for coronaries. It’s going to be so amazing when all the buildings have to be redone because the majority of America can’t fit through a damn door. And yes, I had a visitor not too long ago that had to step through my front door sideways. I swear, that character from “Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo” was screaming in my head.
“That’s a huge bitch.”

I mean, what’s going to happen when over half of America is on disability because they are too big to work? Yes, I know TWO PEOPLE who get disability for obesity. These people, who will probably stop talking to me after this, but hey, I didn’t say who you are. If you get offended, that’s your problem. If the shoe fits, or doesn’t in this case– back to the point. These people have mobility scooters. They get to park in the handicapped spot at the stores, when your handicap could be cured by walking a bit more. Those things are for people without legs. Those are for people with COPD due to smoking— what’s that you say? They gave themselves COPD? It’s their own fault they have it?

So did the obese people.

Don’t even give me the PCOS or Thyroid crap. Firstly, treatment for PCOS is, can you guess? Weight loss. That’s right. Secondly, just stop. PCOS at most causes a small weight gain, and not hundreds of pounds.

Yes, I am a bit ragey right now, but I was in utter shock. This is a huge health crisis that needs to be reversed.

As a child, I had a wonderful vision of the future. I dreamed of people in shiny space suits, blasting off from this planet to visit others. Much in the way of Star Trek, yes?

Well, at this rate, it’ll never happen. Everybody will exceed the weight limit and won’t be able to get on the spacecraft. What’s that? You say there won’t be a weight limit, because people can be just as healthy?

Then we won’t ever escape Earth’s gravity, will we?

 

Leave a Reply

