Social Media Drama

Today on facebook, I received a friend request from a person I know, which I promptly denied.

Why?

A few years ago when I was a fresh-faced, doe eyed facebook newbie, this person sent me a request, so I accepted because “OMG, haven’t talked to you in years!”

Then a couple of years down the road, I received a second request from them, which meant that at some point during those two years, they unfriended me, most likely because I am blunt and people don’t like to hear things unless you sugar coat them. I accepted of course.

Today? Friend request from the same person. Again, this shows that in the past four or so years, they have unfriended me twice, for reasons unknown, and now they want to try again.

How about no?

I’ll let an unfriending slide one time, but I am not doing friendship tag with you. You had your chance, but clearly, you were oversensitive and hit that unfriend button quicker than shit because “That’ll show her.” At least, I assume.

It probably went a little like this.

I posted something that was mean because I am a big meanie.

This person is shocked. How could I say such things? Well, they’re offended! Time to unfriend her!

Years pass and this person goes, “Hm. Why hasn’t she tried to request me? Hasn’t she noticed that we aren’t friends? Well, maybe she’s changed. *clicks send request which gets accepted.” They mull around for a few months and wonder, “Why hasn’t she asked why I unfriended her? I’ll send her a message.*sends message that says Hi.*”

I reply, not mentioning the unfriending because I don’t care. I keep the conversation to boring things like the weather.

A few months down the road this person gets on facebook to see something mean. “Omg, they haven’t changed at all! I am offended! I don’t really like this person! *clicks unfriend* What a horrible bitch.”

This is where I truly don’t know what the hell goes through their heads. At what point, after you have unfriended somebody a SECOND time, do you somehow get it in your head that I want to be friends? You are either really dense and stupid (or you think I am dense and stupid) or constantly used to getting your way and you just assume I’ll accept.

I don’t play that game. I will let one unfriending slide, but if you get your panties in a wad, and unfriend a second time, don’t think I’ll accept your request. You clearly have issues of some sort, whether it be being oversensitive, or a narcissist who thinks people need you.

Or you’re just not very bright and you think facebook works the way the real world works. You fall out of touch with people a few times in your life and wind up speaking again. That’s not quite how facebook works. The unfriend feature isn’t a mute button of sorts. It’s not a “That’ll show her” button.

If you have ever unfriended somebody twice and chose to try and request again, you may want to rethink a few things in life. Some of us get very tired of you being a contrarian.

Leave a Reply

