The election is three days away

Throughout most of my adult life, I have always known who I would vote for well before election day arrived.

I have also always without fail voted straight democrat. My first presidential election was in 2004 (I turned 18 in 2001. There was no election that year.) and I voted Kerry, who had the personality of a wet dishrag, but he was the democrat that got the nomination, so considering my views have always aligned with that party, I voted for him.

I voted for Obama twice in 2008 and 2012. I have no regrets over that. I feel Obama has been *adequate*. He’s not been the miracle we had hoped he would be in 2008, but overall he was adequate.

Now 2016 is here, and if you had asked me months ago when this all started, I would have told you this: “There is no way Donald Trump will win the nomination. Most likely it will be Ted Cruz on the republican ticket. As far as democrats? Definitely Sanders.” He was like a raging wildfire. He was popular. Everybody was on his side.

Then somehow Clinton kept winning. Ya know, I didn’t know anybody personally who was  voting for her in the primary? I know A LOT of people. None of them said, “oh I like Clinton better than Sanders!” Nobody. They all hated Clinton. They all voted Sanders in the primaries.

Then Clinton got the nomination, leaving many like me confused. Then the emails came out, and it showed the DNC did not treat Sanders fairly, and actively tried to rig it all in favor of Clinton, whom NOBODY liked.

Now the democrat party is tearing in two. The republican party is destroyed and our nominees are the two candidates nobody really wanted.

Hilary Clinton vs Donald Trump.

Kill me.

Finally, three days before the election, I have finally figured out who I will vote for. I was supporting Johnson for a while, and I still do, but right now he has no way to win, and he went a little loony tunes on me. Maybe next year Johnson, but I cannot support you right now. I have to cast my vote for the lesser of two evils to ensure a very dangerous candidate does not win the position of “most powerful person on the planet.”

The lesser of two evils to me is somebody who will be a lame duck throughout the presidency, unable to get things done due to not having congressional support because most of congress cannot stand him. With that information alone, you should be able to figure out who I am voting for. If you can’t, sorry. I don’t have to tell you, and I don’t have to explain myself. Just know that I will require an antiemetic before walking into the polling station, so I don’t throw up before I vote.

I keep thinking back to the last time I actually talked to a certain person. The last thing they heard me say was “I’ll vote for anybody but Trump.”

God, if you could see me now. You’d be surprised, and I am sorry.

 

Leave a Reply

