Excerpt from new book

Gosh, have I been busy. I realized today that I haven’t put up a post in a while. So, real quick, I’ll give you an excerpt from my upcoming book, “The Black Summer Rain: After Midnight,” which will hopefully be out by June or July. I definitely have to have it out by November.

See, I started it four years ago. Its a post apocalyptic political satire, and lets just say, I based the president in the novel, off a man like Trump. Now that him being president is a real possibility, I almost feel like I predicted a possible future.

So, without any delay, here’s an excerpt. I hope you enjoy, and keep an eye out here, or on my Facebook for more information!

“I admit, I kind of liked the guy. He was so ballsy, and said all the things so many of us were thinking. It was that reason alone that he stole the election with a landslide victory. Uneducated, unconcerned people just like me who thought our country needed more balls, and less sensitivity. I assumed more balls, meant we would be a stronger country, and less people would fuck with us, but with balls comes the provoking and that man provoked all the wrong people. Then the bombs fell, and we shattered beneath them. Because of how we treated some of our allies, very few were willing to help, or so I heard. Even Britain was hesitant. I guess we all thought we were invincible. Untouchable. The bombs came from an alliance we didn’t expect, but always feared in the back of our minds. Its funny, we didn’t know any of this until help came from an unlikely source. I didn’t realize just how much we relied on technology for everything. All news we had after the bombs was sheer speculation. Nobody knew the real truth of the matters at hand. All we knew is we were nuked, and the country was ruined, and nobody seemed to be helping. Captain Docev said that president Vangalov was eager to help the Americans by sending in someone, primarily because his ego was as big, if not bigger than our own, and lets face it, the idea of us owing Russia a favor, because they stepped in for us when no one else would, was a reality that even I had to laugh at. Laughing helped in most situations. For me anyways, but laughter didn’t get rid of the fallout. Laughter didn’t rebuild our cities, or our alliances. Even so, laughter did make me feel better as I sat at the rickety table in what used to be my only friends tornado cellar, sharing a meal with Sarah, Captain Docev and his medic Ile with Jake playing his guitar in the background. For a moment, it seemed normal, like nothing bad had happened, but then I would look up, and remember that the outside world was a mess, and even with the Serbians, Russians, and whoever else was around, it didn’t do much to stave the fear. So, I enjoyed the moment, and my companions company, knowing full and well that any moment could be our last. At least right that second, everything seemed normal. Just for a second.”

Leave a Reply

