Hanson’s Mmmbop

Today’s shit song I analyze and respond to, is Hanson’s, “MMMbop.” If you haven’t heard this song, I’ll assume you’re a child. In that case, you shouldn’t be reading my blog. There’s lots of naughty words and I am a bad influence.
Anyways, here we go!

MMMBop

Oh oh oh oh oh
Yeah
(Yeah, 1997 was a bad year for music. Time to analyze this piece of shit)
You have so many relationships in this life
Only one or two will last
(… Well, Taylor you have a point. Two years ago, I thought J would be a friend forever. Then he betray me!)
You go through all the pain and strife
Then you turn your back and they’re gone so fast
(Well, that’s true. I mean, it was pretty quick the way he dropped me like a bad habit)
Oh yeah
And they’re gone so fast, yeah
Oh
So hold on the ones who really care
In the end they’ll be the only ones there
(But how do I know who really cares, Taylor? If I knew, I would.)
And when you get old and start losing your hair
Tell me who will still care
Can you tell me who will still care?
(… No, actually I can’t. I mean, I have a pretty good idea who will, but two years ago I did too, and some of those people I thought cared are gone. Keep going…)

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
(Yeah, I think this chorus is where people’s ears start bleeding)
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du
Yeah
Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
(… get to the point, Taylor)
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du
Yeah

Oh yeah
In an Mmmbop they’re gone
(… okay, this is true. In mere seconds people you thought cared will leave you)
Yeah yeah

Plant a seed, plant a flower, plant a rose
(Gardening tips now?)
You can plant any one of those
Keep planting to find out which one grows
(Wait a minute, this is a metaphor for friendships.)
It’s a secret no one knows
It’s a secret no one knows
Oh, no one knows
(… you know Taylor, you have a point. Planting the seeds alludes to forging new friendships, and sometimes those seeds don’t grow, just like relationships!)

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du, yeah
(This chorus. Not sure what these nonsensical sounds have to do with anything, but you needed something to catch the ear, right?)
Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du, yeah
(Stuck in your head, isn’t it readers?)

Oh
Yeah oh
(Oh?)
In an mmm bop they’re gone
(Mmbop must be a metaphor for a short amount of time. You’re right, Taylor. In an instant, they leave you.)
Oh yeah oh
In an mmmbop they’re gone
In an mmm bop they’re not there
(In an instant, they ghost you. They stop caring.. ..)
In an mmmbop they’re gone
In an mmm bop they’re not there
In an mmmbop they’re gone
In an mmmbop they’re not there
(You’ve said this. I get it.)
In an mmmbop they’re gone
In an mmmbop they’re not there
Until you lose your hair
(They’re not there until I lose my hair? Wait a second, losing your hair is a sign of growing old, and nearing the end of your life! Meaning, those who leave you, especially in a terrible way, won’t come back until they are near death, and they feel they have to make it right!)
Oh
But you don’t care
(And by that point, so much time has passed that you’ve moved on. Oh my God! )

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du, yeah
Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du, yeah
(The chorus. Jesus.)
Yeah
Oh yeah oh oh
So hold on the ones who really care
In the end they’ll be the only ones there
(You’re right, Taylor! But its hard to figure out who your true friends are! Hang on to them! I will, Taylor! I will hold on to the ones who really care. *Wipes tear* I will.)
And when you get old and start losing your hair
Tell me who will still care
(My true friends will still care. The fake ones, no. Are you saying to find out who my true friends are, and hug them? I will, Taylor!)
Can you tell me who will still care?
(Right now, I’m not sure I can…)
Oh care

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du, yeah
Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du,

Can you tell me? oh
No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
(No, I can’t tell you who will be there for me when life nears its end…)
Can you tell me? oh
You say you can but you don’t know
(I thought I could tell you, but you’re right. You’re saying to analyze people better, figure out who wants to be there for me, right?)
Can you tell me? oh
Which flower’s going to grow?
(I don’t know which relationships will flourish… I wish I did.)

No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
(*wipes tear* I don’t, Taylor.)
Can you tell me? oh
If it’s going to be a daisy or a rose?
(A daisy is a metaphor for friendships. A rose is a metaphor for love, right? I have no idea who will love me, or who will be a damn daisy!)
You say you can but you don’t know
Can you tell me? oh
which flower’s going to grow?
No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
Can you tell me? oh
You say you can but you don’t know
Oh yeah
You say you can but you don’t know
You dont know
You dont know, oh
(*sobs* I don’t know, Taylor. I promise, I will try and find out who really cares about me, and who is just using me. I promise, Taylor!)

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop
Ba du, yeah
Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du bop, Ba du dop
Ba du, care

Oh
Can u tell me? oh
No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
Can u tell me? oh
You say you can but you don’t know
Can u tell me? oh
No you can’t ’cause you don’t know
Can u tell me?
You say you can but you don’t know

… holy shit. THIS IS DEEP! We thought this song was just a novelty, that it was just a catchy piece of shit written to sell albums! This song is amazing! What a message!

Stay tuned for my next, “This is Deep,” post, where I take songs everyone thought was bad, and prove it’s actually deep.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

