Imagine no hypocrisy

Firstly, I used the word biweekly wrong. I’m an author, and I am prepared to go to the gallows for that mistake.

I’ve decided that music is helping me through the legal process of suing my friend, so expect many song analyses. I will do a Metal Monday or whatever day I bloody feel like it, and rip popular metal songs to shreds, and a new feature called “this is deep!” Just stay tuned to see what that’s about.

Today’s song is a song that everyone thinks is so deep and enlightened, but I see hypocrisy, and holier than thou bullshit. It’s called, “imagine,” by John Lennon.

Imagine

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
(Yeah, people do it all the time. It’s called being an atheist. That’s about half the population. )
No hell below us
Above us only sky
(I don’t have to imagine there’s only sky above us. That’s pretty much reality. Are you promoting heaven? Since you want me to imagine there isn’t a heaven, I assume you believe it’s real. You’d know by now, right?)
Imagine all the people
Living for today…
(Usually when people live in the moment, they do crazy shit. Like shoot a member of the Beatles, but I’m following you.)
Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
(One world government? Or hippie compound where people share everything. Like Jonestown?)
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
(Wait, you came off as a believer in heaven when you asked me to imagine ONLY sky. I’m starting to think you have a thing against religion John. Religion and nationalism aren’t the only reason people kill. Sometimes they read books.)
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…
(Now, I think that’s great. Even miss America wants world peace. However, you aren’t going to get that by singing a song about imagining)
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one
(Are you promoting a cult? I am fairly sure Jim Jones said the same thing and the next thing we know, nearly 1000 people drank some tainted fruit punch and wound up dead)

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can

(Tell me about that $10,000 piano you wrote this song on. Tell me about that expensive manor you were shot in front of. I wonder if YOU can imagine life without possessions.)
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
(Food, clothing and shelter count as possessions, but I see what you are getting at, so I’ll let that slide.)
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…
(Global communism. No religion. Share and share alike. It sounds nice! Like the Soviet union!….wait.)
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one
(No, John. I’d say you’re a hypocrite. Didn’t you once say to Paul, “lets write another yacht? “)
There you have it. Imagine. He tried so hard to be enlightened and holier than thou, like he had a true message, but when you really look at the lyrics, you realize it’s nothing more than hypocritical, hippie nonsense.
(Side note: before you froth at the mouth, and break your fingers typing death threats, realize I actually like the song. I am not a Beatles fan though. I never liked them. They aren’t my style. I do respect them, however.)
Leave a Reply

